Children's Garden — 12th St & Ave B

Children's Garden

If you would like to volunteer (volunteers are needed all year round) either email us or visit us at the garden during our upcoming garden activities or during open hours (Apr 1st - Oct 31st, see below).


Upcoming Garden Activities

Open to anyone who would like to volunteer and help.

Activities may include composting (treating food waste, feeding worm bins, sifting compost, etc.), treating soil, mulching, picking up garbage throughout the garden, and watering. You can focus on one or more activities depending on time. We have garden/work gloves or you can bring your own.

CG - Children's Garden, 12th St & Ave B, southwest corner
ESB - El Sol Brillante community garden, 526 E 12th St, middle of the block, south side of the street
Our composting and other garden activities involve both gardens with shared resources and volunteers.

Updated: 10/1/2018

Oct 1 Mon 4 - 6 pm at CG

Oct 2 Tue 3 - 7 pm at CG

Oct 3 Wed 12 - 2 pm at CG

Oct 8 Mon 4 - 6 pm at CG

Oct 9 Tue 3 - 6 pm at CG

Oct 10 Wed 12 - 2 pm at CG

Oct 13 Sat 3 - 6 pm at CG

Oct 15 Mon 4 - 6 pm at CG

Oct 16 Tue 3 - 6 pm at CG

Oct 17 Wed 12 - 2 pm at CG

Oct 20 Sat 1 - 3 pm at ESB, 3 - 6 pm at CG

Oct 22 Mon 4 - 6 pm at CG

Oct 23 Tue 3 - 6 pm at CG

Oct 24 Wed 12 - 2 pm at CG

Oct 27 Sat 3 - 6 pm at CG

Oct 29 Mon 4 - 6 pm at CG

Oct 30 Tue 3 - 6 pm at CG

Oct 31 Wed 12 - 2 pm at CG

To confirm that you'll be coming or if you would like to be notified whenever we update the garden activities schedule, please email us. Otherwise, please check this website for changes and the next set of dates (next month's dates).


Open Hours

Between April 1st - October 31st

Open hours scheduling (Google spreadsheet, opens in a separate window).

Open Hours - weather permitting - updated 7/23/2018

Visitors Welcome during open hours and whenever gate is open.

Mondays4 pm - 6 pm
Tuesdays3 pm - 6 pm
Wednesdays12 pm - 2 pm
Thursdays6 pm - 8 pm
Fridays
Saturdays3 pm - 6 pm
Sundays6 pm - 8 pm

Food waste treatment scheduling (Google spreadsheet, opens in a separate window).

Watering the garden scheduling (Google spreadsheet, opens in a separate window).


Composting Grant 2016

from the Citizens Committee For NYC
Project materials list: ESB-CG Composting Grant 2016 (Google spreadsheet, opens in a separate window)
Additional information to follow (items to build: worm bins, trommel sifter for both the Children's Garden and El Sol Brillante).


Info & History

CG's bylaws (drafting in progress--please review and email any edits, corrections, and suggestions.

CG's garden guidelines

Amount of food waste treated with bokashi at Children's Garden and El Sol Brillante: ESB-CG Quantity Food Waste

Bokashi Composting History at El Sol Brillante and Children's Garden




Children's Garden - a GreenThumb community garden on 12th St & Ave B, southwest corner, East Village NYC
Copyright © 2017-2018